The Road Ahead

Posted: January 23, 2017 in Fitness, Health, Uncategorized

I thought I would amalgamate a few posts I had been thinking of into this one. Basically it’s a catch up of what I have done and what I plan for the rest of the year.

It was a cold and frosty morning on Saturday but even wheelie bin covered ice patches could not deter me from completing my 17th Coventry Parkrun in, what turned out to be, my second fastest time. I had been worried my calf troubles would come back now that I have increased my running again but so far so good. The heel raises I was given by the physio along with new trainers (ASICS Patriot 8) and the purchase of some Kalenji calf sleeves (Decathlon) seem to be keeping me on track. Unfortunately it’s not such good news on the shoulder injury I got taking a slow speed tumble off my mountain bike during the Evans’ cycle Ride It cross country event on Cannock Chase at the start of October. Despite physio and implementing the exercises I was given, the shoulder is a million miles away from where it needs to be.

With this in mind it was time to start thinking about events for the year ahead. I have already ran the January Draycote 10k and have now signed up to run again in February. Let’s hope the weather is kinder to us then as it rained so much last time I may as well have swam the 10k.

Also signed up are not one but four Wolf Runs this year ( http://thewolfrun.com/ ). Last year it was my ultimate goal to complete the Autumn Wolf, which I did, and that has given me an appetite for more. If I can complete Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter I will qualify as an Alpha Wolf. This will be my main goal this year. Not bad for a totally Beta Male. For those of you unsure why anyone would want to put themselves through the torture of an obstacle race I urge you to watch Rise of The Sufferfests. A documentary into what makes people repeatedly go back for more. http://riseofthesufferfests.com/

I do intend to enter a few more events, including a return to the King of the Mytons cycling event, but that’s all that are booked so far.

My training has stepped up a gear lately so I thought I would share what an average week looks like for me. With this being winter, my distances have fallen but as lighter evenings and warmth returns I will be building back up.

Monday

3-4 mile run

Tuesday

HIIT row session 20s sprint/ 10s rest x8

Supersets of:

chest press/ seated row. 3 sets 20 reps.

Squats/ dumbbell lunge 3 sets 20 reps

Lat pull downs/ shoulder raise (forwards and to the side) 3 sets 20 reps

Leg curls/ leg extensions 3 sets 20 reps

Plank 75s

Plank push-ups 30s

Mountain climbers 30s

Swiss ball jack knives 30s

Leg raises 30s

Plank 75s

X-trainer 20 minutes on random

Followed by a repeat of the core exercises (plank etc.)

Wednesday

Rest day

Thursday 

Repeat Tuesday

Friday

Bike 10 miles +

Saturday

Run

Sunday

Repeat Tuesday

Now, that may seem like a lot but I do worry that I need to increase the cycling and, at some point, introduce swimming. Not enough hours in the day!


My online Active I.Q. Gym instructors course seems to have gone off with more of a whimper than a bang after the first online lesson was cancelled due to technical difficulties and the rescheduled lesson was during my working day so I couldn’t attend. Ascthere is no course portal or online forums yet, there is no way to collaborate with my peers on the course. This is not what I am used to from distance learning. Things can only get better I guess.

On the whole though, what is normally my most hated month, January has got off to a flying start and as we approach it’s end I hope to carry this momentum into February and beyond.

Happy training!

Leave a Reply

