Back once again!

How has it been almost 2.5 years since I blogged!

So, Where am I and what has changed?

I moved to Lichfield mid 2021 just as the world was getting over Lockdown. I was working from home and struggling to cope with the loneliness, honestly. Despite joining a new gym, I just couldn’t focus. By the time April 2022 came around I decided I needed to do something. I enrolled in the local BJJ school. Bloody Loved it and was doing well until I developed an IT band issue that caused me immense pain every time I knelt down. so had to give it up after a year.

I had also had some counselling for the mental strain of working for home. I get that some people love it but It really wasn’t for me. I signed up with the 2 times Master Coach winner Paul Mort to help me get my mind back to where it needed to be. I, honestly cannot recommend the guy enough. His straight talking, no nonsense approach was exactly what I needed. Through working with him I realised that I could not keep working with the company I was with so resigned. I found a new job with out too much difficulty and have been there since. 2023 was about getting me back. I had started and abandoned my level 3 PT course. towards September I was itching to get back to training and felt ready to complete my Level 3. I joined the local PureGym and, a few weeks later, their Instagram account advertised that they were looking for a level 2 qualified Fitness coach who was working toward level 3. I applied and got taken on. I have now been working there for 3.5 months and love every minute. I get the most satisfaction from teaching the classes. Its great seeing the members getting better each week and I love being part of their journey.

However, during the last several months I have developed chest problems that my Doctor thinks are environmental in nature. I have taken steps to protect myself better but my cardio fitness has been decimated. As I result I have started a couch 2 5k program. Yes, its humbling, yes, I am starting from scratch, but as I tell my clients we all have to take the first step on any journey. I like to ask myself “What is the opportunity here?”. Yes it could be considered a massive backwards step. I was training for Marathons but, while I was doing that, I tore my calf and have never been able to run properly since.

The opportunity here then is to relearn to run. Do it properly with coaching and, more importantly, not rushing. I have missed running. I have missed the events and the comradery that the running clubs brought. It is very early days. I completed my first training session today. The course is 9 weeks and If I can get the final Parkruns I need for 50 done by the end of it I will consider it a success.

So that has formed my goals for this year.

  1. Get my cardio fitness back to where it needs to be
  2. Complete the C25K program
  3. Complete my Level 3 PT course (Just the practical remaining now)
  4. Complete my 50th Parkrun
  5. Enter and complete a 10k

Will I do it? I have before and I will again. Watch this space.

Leave a comment