Back once again!

Today I finally ran a Parkrun for the first time in almost 2 years. Last time out my calf issue flared up again leaving me limping after the first mile. I was so disheartened that I thought the best thing I could do was give up running. I switched my focus to weight training and other forms of cardio in the gym. The truth is, though, I really missed it and the friendships I had made through the running clubs I had been a part of. At the start of this year, whilst recovering from the breathing issues I had experienced, I decided I had to get back to some form of running. If not the half’s and 10ks I used to enjoy then at least get some 5ks ran. To this end I downloaded the free couch to 5k app from the NHS here in the Uk.

The app itself works well and features some interval training that moves you from one minute of running all the way up to 5 k by the end of the programme. This is perfect for beginners or someone like me who needs to build the strength back up in my calves in a safe, controlled manner. I am now about to start week four but decided to take a chance and try the Parkrun this week. A bit naughty as the programme is actually 9 weeks long so I am not even half way but I knew I would only go at a pace I was comfortable with and I could walk if I needed too.

Mandy and I were at the start line this morning for 8:45. I arrived early so I could do some stretches so I was in the best possible place I could be before the start. It’s only a small Parkrun really but still managed to pack in over 400 runners of every level. As a result the start was very crowded and it took us a minute or so before we actually could start running. Once underway I fell into a steady rhythm that put me in mid 10 minute miles and we began moving up through the pack. The first lap passed without any niggles with my leg but half way through the second lap it became apparent that my lung function is still not where it needs to be and I ended walking for about 100 metres until I could get my breathing under control.

I soon got back in my stride and completed the last half of the lap with no more problems. My final time was 32:43, definitely not my fastest, in 281st place and 25th in my age group and finally checked off my 48th Parkrun. In my current condition I am more than happy with that. As always a massive thank you to the volunteer Marshals as the event wouldn’t be able to take place without them.

So, the plan is keep chipping away at the couch to 5k programme and keep building my cardio fitness back up. Eventually I will do the whole thing without stopping. Hopefully in time for my 50th Parkrun, fingers crossed!

Leave a comment