Finally!

If you have followed my blog from the early days you will know my fitness journey began in 2015. I was 6 stone (38kg) over what is classed as my ideal weight and therefore morbidly obese. In September of that year I set about correcting the rot. Its not been easy and there have been many highs and lows along the way. Even as I type this I am around a stone and a half over where I would like to be but I am, mentally, much happier with where I am.

In 2017 I was getting a lot of questions on Social Media about how I had lost the weight and changed my lifestyle. I was entering Obstacle races, 5 and 10ks and basically living a different life. I didn’t feel qualified to answer these questions so I took on a level 2 fitness instructor course. I qualified that year but really didn’t use it.

Over the next few years I suffered a few injuries, struggled with my mental health and ended up in counselling. This led my to seek out some life coaching and this eventually led me to Paul Mort and his Unstoppable and Mansformation courses. I have stated previously that I cannot recommend this man highly enough for his content and straightforward approach to coaching and I would urge you all, at the very least, to read his book, Paul Mort Will Save Your life, available on Audible. What else are you going to spend this month’s credit on?

From this course came the realisation that what I really wanted to do with my life was help others. Late in 2022 I signed onto a Origym Level 3 Personal Trainer course. I got off to a good start but, again, life got in the way and the 12 months I had given myself to complete the course turned in to 18. I was speaking to my partner about needing to get cracking on the course again when, a few days later, I saw the advert for my local Puregym that stated they were looking for a level 2 who was working toward a level 3 to work as a gym instructor. This is where that whole manifesting what you want comes into play again. If I hadn’t started the level 3, or had already finished it, I wouldn’t have been suitable. I am now a firm believer that life gives you opportunities, you just have to take them.

My contract was for 3 months and was due to end on the 31/12/2024. I was on track to have completed the course until I hit a major hold up with the final module. I got the first attempt completely wrong by overthinking it, with the way the online system works, it was two weeks until I found out, so a second submission went in. This was closer but still not enough. Another two weeks went by and I was starting to worry. I am so grateful to my gym manager who secured me an extension to my contract so I could continue working until the end of January. With much head scratching and some help from my colleagues at the gym, the third submission was successful and I could move on to the physiology and Anatomy exams which I passed with flying colours. So, that was that. I was at 96% course completion with just the Practical assessment left to do.

On the 27th of January this year I drove to Anytime Fitness in Birmingham where I met with four other students, 2 taking their level 3 like me and 1 taking his level 3. Our Assessor, Danny, paired us up to role Play Trainer and client and we would be assessed on how well we demonstrated the skills for the required level and on the safety and knowledge of the various exercises we were to demonstrate. I was paired with Leon who was taking his level two and he went first.

It was the third time I had played the client as I did it for my Daughter at level two and three. Leon did a great job of explaining aerobic curve and the exercises I was to perform and, despite his obvious nervousness, handled the exercise well. I am happy to report he passed.

The other two went next and we were not permitted to watch but the Trainer also passed in that session. Then it was my turn. Danny asked me to start with Intervals which I did on the Upright Bike. I took Leon through an explanation of the bikes function, told him the training aim and what I expected and that I would control the intervals. Next I was given Matrix and chose to do these with Bicep curls. From here Danny choose Tri-sets. This was tricking but I used Chest press, inclined Chest Press and Flat Flys. The only downside here was I demonstrated the chest press on the plate loaded machine and only one side had a plate on it. I corrected it before the client got on though. From there I was given Eccentrics. really easy with the Cable Tricep pulldown I selected. The final exercise, and the one that tripped me up, was Forced Reps. To be honest, the online videos I watched didn’t make it totally clear what the difference between forced reps and negatives was and this is one of the downsides to a purely online course. I feel a workshop would be better for comprehending the differences. I selected the Leg extension and explained to Leon that I would be assisting from the point of concentric failure so he could get the remaining sets. Unfortunately Danny said I gave a little too much assistance so it looked like negatives. Thankfully it was only raised as a comment and wasn’t enough to fail me. The final exercise I was given was a free choice of core exercise and I went with Plank. The object of the test here was to have a progression or regression ready to go for the second set and Danny went with Progression. I chose Plank get-ups moving Leon from plank to a press-up position one arm at a time then back down again. Danny then asked me to finish the session, which I did and he tole me I had passed with just the Forced reps as a comment.

And so, There you have it. The journey to be come a PT has come to an end. I am now fully qualified. I will transition at my gym from GI to PT as soon as the documentation comes through and now the hard work of building a business begins.

It has been an emotional journey and I am deeply grateful for the people who have helped me along the way. I am now doing the one thing I have always wanted to do, empower people to live healthier, happier lives and this is only possible because of the people who have helped me. Thank you.

Leave a comment